Junior Achievement Special Section
Junior Achievement Special Section
Congratulations 2020 Educator of the Year:
Dr. Deena Bishop
Superintendent, Anchorage School District


r. Deena Bishop is being honored as the Junior Achievement (JA) of Alaska Educator of the Year for her outstanding support of community partnerships, JA’s experiential programs, and emphasizing career readiness for students. “Dr. Bishop’s hands-on approach to leadership is admirable, and her commitment to delivering the best education to Anchorage students every day is outstanding. Strong, collaborative partnerships between the business community and schools are important for students,” says JA President Flora Teo.

In her role as superintendent for both Anchorage and Mat-Su schools, Bishop has attended JA in a Day events for many years, spending time in classrooms and sharing real-world lessons that connect what students are learning in schools to how they will use that knowledge in the future. Last May Bishop attended JA’s Volunteer Appreciation event where she thanked members of the business community for volunteering their time and investing in Alaska’s students. JA’s programs teach financial literacy, workforce readiness, and entrepreneurship and are provided to teachers and schools at no cost.

Nominations for Educator of the Year are made through a statewide nomination process. Candidates must demonstrate above-average commitment to JA and volunteerism and promote the pillars of Junior Achievement: financial literacy, workforce readiness, and entrepreneurship.

Thank you, Dr. Bishop!
Educator of the Year Award Past Recipients
2019: Stephanie Frantz,
Goldenview Middle School, Anchorage
Dawn Anderson,
Goldenview Middle School, Anchorage

2018: Leah Meyring,
Hanshew Middle School, Anchorage

2017: Cessilye Williams,
Clark Middle School,

2016: Pam Orme,
Anchorage School District

2014: Chris Eisert,
South High School, Anchorage

2013: Karen Wallace,
Northern Lights ABC School, Anchorage
Marcus Wilson,
North Star Elementary School, Anchorage

2012: Valerie Ekberg-Brown, Chugiak High School,

2011: Carol Comeau,
Anchorage School District, Anchorage

2010: Rebecca Himschoot, Keet Gooshi Heen, Sitka

2009: Jeannett Barleen,
Service High School,

2008: Charice Chambers,
King Career Center,

2007: Claudia Pierson,
Joy Elementary, Fairbanks

2006: Todd Smoldon,
East High School, Anchorage

2005: Beth Ondra
Rabbit Creek Elementary, Anchorage